{BLOG} Fleur De Lis & Paradise

I was watching my boys playing near the shed yesterday and noticed they were using something I hadn’t seen before. Upon closer inspection, I discovered it was a wrought iron easel, a little rusted in parts but structurally it was in near perfect condition. I asked the boys where they found it and they informed me it was in the scrap metal pile, which was left by the previous owner of the farm. I instantly fell in love with it and can’t fathom why would anyone want to throw it away!

I love the ‘Fleur De Lis’ embellishment at the top and for a second I contemplated sanding the whole thing back and repainting it black, however, I decided I much prefer the antiquated look. I can’t determine if the easel is an actual antique or just aged from being in the weather for lord knows how long. Regardless, it is going to be the new centrepiece of my living room and will be holding my OOAK ‘Bird of Paradise’ painting made for me by a friend. At the moment this painting sits on the floor as I wasn’t sure where to hang it but my “new” easel solves that problem. I may have to visit that scrap metal pile myself soon to see if I can discover any other treasures!

  



Leave a Reply

